School Logo Cameron Parish School System

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu


Cameron Parish has selected Students of the Year for the 2016 - 2017 school year.  The students were selected by a committee of community representatives and teachers from throughout the parish.  The Students of the Year Awards Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior high, and high school students.  These students are recognized for demonstrating excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship.


            The Students of the Year Awards Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the State Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.


            The initial school selections were:


Grand Lake High School – Grade 5, Falynn Foreman; Grade 8, Brynlee Boudreaux; Grade 12, Paul Guidry


Hackberry High School – Grade 5, Avery Duhon; Grade 8, Summer Lyons; Grade 12, Drew Kyle


South Cameron High School - Grade 5, Macie LaBove; Grade 8, Anna Dupont; Grade 12, Briley Richard


Johnson Bayou High School – Grade 5, Juilet McGee; Grade 8, Ava Trahan; Grade 12, Joseph Stamatis


            The Cameron Parish Students of the Year contest was held January 10, 2017 at the Cameron Parish Educational Conference Center.  The representatives from each school were scored on portfolios, academic achievements, writing ability, and interview.


            The winners for the parish competition are Grade 5, Avery Duhon, Hackberry High School; Grade 8, Anna Dupont, South Cameron High School; Grade 12, Briley Richard, South Cameron High School. These students will move on to the Regional Louisiana Students of the Year Competition later this semester.


The Students of the Year committee will like to thank Superintendent Charles Adkins for his continuous support of this program.  They will also like to thank Mrs. Melissa Poole and Mrs. Heidi Baccigalopi and their students for preparing and serving refreshments at the event