School Logo Cameron Parish School System

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu


Students of the Year Parish Winners

             Cameron Parish has selected Students of the Year for the 2017 - 2018 school year.  The students were selected by a committee of community representatives and teachers from throughout the parish.  The Students of the Year Awards Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior high, and high school students.  These students are recognized for demonstrating excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship.

             The Students of the Year Awards Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the State Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

             The initial school selections were:

 Grand Lake High School – Grade 5, Hannah Morgan; Grade 8, Kelli LeDoux; Grade 12, Madison Theriot

 Hackberry High School – Grade 5, Will Kaczynski; Grade 8, Allie Alexander; Grade 12, Bryce Welch

 South Cameron High School - Grade 5, Ryann Landry; Grade 8, Brett King; Grade 12, Brilee Baccigalopi

 Johnson Bayou High School – Grade 5, Cora Knox; Grade 8, Briley Kent; Grade 12, Jarrett Constance

             The Cameron Parish Students of the Year contest was held January 10, 2018 at the Cameron Parish School Board Office.  The representatives from each school were scored on portfolios, academic achievements, writing ability, and interview.

 Superintendent Charles Adkins greeted the students, parents and committee members.    He commended the many accomplishments and awards of the students shared in their portfolios.

Student of the year winners

             The winners for the parish competition are Grade 5, Hannah Morgan, Grand Lake High School; Grade 8, Kelli LeDoux, Grand Lake High School; Grade 12, Madison Theriot, Grand Lake High School. These students will move on to the Regional Louisiana Students of the Year Competition later this semester.